Early years foundation stage

The early years foundation stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to five years for all Ofsted-registered early years providers including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.  

Your child will mostly learn through indoors and outdoors play.  The areas of learning are: 

  • communication and language 
  • physical development 
  • personal, social and emotional development 
  • literacy 
  • mathematics 
  • understanding the world 
  • expressive arts and design 

You should be involved in the assessment process of your child on a regular basis and be encouraged to participate in their early learning and development.  Your child's setting or childminder will keep you informed about your child's progress.    

A Health Visitor and the setting your child attends will provide written information about how your child is doing when they are 2 years old (between 24 and 36 months) and again when they are 5 years old (at the end of your child’s reception year).  

The ratio of children to adults varies according to your child’s age and are clearly specified as part of the standards. 

If you have any questions or concerns at all about your child, contact your local Health Visitor service. Your local Health Visitor service offers support for parents of all children (from pregnancy to age five), whatever their circumstances. 

Visit the Sirona care and health - health visiting service to find out how to contact your local Health Visitor.